Parachutist Online – Extreme Makeover!

by

So, this is probably something nobody was expecting just yet. We hadn’t announced anything before. No mention was made to the public. In essence, we kept it pretty “hush, hush.” But, after months of work, very stressful months at that, I’m glad to announce that the Parachutist Online website is now redesigned!

There’s a lot of content there, but there’s still a lot more to do. So, we are rolling this out as a Beta, which means major features and changes can be implemented without much notice. It all depends on you guys. Part of the reason I’m writing this blog is that, aside from announcing the site, we are also looking for feedback. Things like:

What do you think of the site?  What’s interesting? What’s lacking? What would you like to see done or changed?

I’m not pretending the website is perfect, but a lot of work went into it, and I’m rather proud.

Also, there are some things that we are either working on currently, or can’t start working on until a few other things get settled. All feedback will be taken into account, but that does not necessarily mean everything can be implemented. To leave feedback, you can comment on this post or use the feedback button on the homepage of the Parachutist Online website.

Oh! And here’s some information and specifications for those interested:

Parachutist Online is running on Drupal 6.x. (Great CMS!) Right now we are publishing all of the Safety & Training section, minus Incident Reports which will still be under USPA, the more personal section, which we’ve named “Columns” for the time being and one or two Features per month.
Everybody can comment wherever there’s a comment section, but until we implement a user interface (which is one of those things I can’t start working on just yet) all comments will be monitored and approved beforehand. That’s not to say we’ll be monitoring for dissension, we just want to prevent profanity and those pesky internet spammers.

That about sums it up.

On a final note, for those of you who don’t know me, I’m the web guy, social media guy and Advertising Manager for Parachutist. I’ll be posting a bit of a Developer’s Blog from now on to let you know on what new things, if anything, we are working, or just toss a random idea for review.

Blue Skies!

2 Responses to “Parachutist Online – Extreme Makeover!”

  1. Honey Airborne Says:

    Okay, I am a Military static line jumper, but never the less I love those who jump out of airplanes…I am retired military now. But I look forward to following all that you will represent. I, however, live in New York City and would like to see your coverage in this area also…so maybe you can have a chapter out here, somewhere, so that we can support the view in our area. I wish you much success and continued safe jumps. I am Honey Airborne, a huge supporter of Paratroopers, since I was one myself. Hugs and kisses…

  2. Gyzn Says:

    It would be awesome if there was a mobile web version with text columns that scale. I was looking something up but had to scroll around the screen.

Leave a Reply

